Whitney Houston ‘Sparkle’s on her final recordings

Whitney Houston’s February 11th passing was a shock to the entire music world. Aside from tabloid baiting behavior however, Houston’s work got little attention. At the time of her death, Houston had completed work on the remake of the film Sparkle. 

Sparkle will be released on August 17th, but the soundtrack will be available for your enjoyment on July 31st. It features two of Houston’s final recordings including “His Eye Is On the Sparrow” and the Jordin Sparks duet “Celebrate.”

The film follows the rise and fall of a Motown sister act. Houston plays the matriarch of the family. The track list for Sparkle is as follows:

1. “I’m A Man,” Cee Lo Green
2. “Yes I Do,” Carmen Ejogo
3. “Running,” Goapele
4. “Jump,” Carmen Ejogo, Tika Sumpter & Jordin Sparks
5. “Hooked On Your Love,” Carmen Ejogo, Tika Sumpter & Jordin Sparks
6. “Something He Can Feel,” Carmen Ejogo, Tika Sumpter & Jordin Sparks
7. “His Eye Is On The Sparrow,” Whitney Houston
8. “Look Into Your Heart,” Jordin Sparks
9. “One Wing,” Jordin Sparks
10. “Love Will,” Jordin Sparks
11. “Celebrate,” Whitney Houston & Jordin Sparks

We're looking for writers and editors to join the team. Interested? Apply today!

About Brittanyt

Brittany Tenpenny has wanted to be a writer for as long as she could remember. Aside from brief fantasies of pop stardom and becoming the female Indiana Jones, Brittany was dead set on writing. She pursued her dream all through her academic career, becoming a staff writer for "The Argo" at The Richard Stockton College of New Jersey where she graduated at the top of her class with a Bachelors of Arts in Communications. Last year, Brittany's fictional pieces were published in the e-book "A Calm Whisper."

Brittany is now a graduate student at Rowan University and is currently working on a novel.